My Digital Cameras

My friends and I often talk about what cameras we have, and compare between ourselves the cameras’ specifications and functionalities. And it is amazing just how much a person would want to remember how good his or her camera is, whereas for me, I just take photos with the camera. More often when friends ask me what’s my camera’s power or functions are, I simply don’t know since I never read up about it. And so, for my own reference, and for all who are interested, this blog entry details my digital cameras and their specifications, functionalities, described in the most simplistic terms.
 
Here’s my the first digital camera. A Nikon Coolpix 775. It is 2 megapixel, and the storage media is a flashcard. The lens is a 3X Zoom Nikkor, it consist of seven elements in six groups. The video recording is pathetic, it can only record a maximum 15-second segments of Quicktime movie with no sound.
[UPDATE 2nd January 2012: The Nikon camera has been dead for years, one of its button is stuck, making the camera unusable.]
 
This is an Olympus Stylus 750. It is 7.1 megapixel, the storage media is a xD-Picture Card. Its manual only desctibes the lens as an Olympus lens 6.4 to 32.0 mm, with its focal ranges. The video recording also records sound, there’s no maximum limit of video that can be recorded. But if I’m taking pictures under bright sunlight, the digital display is literally black and cannot be seen.
 
This is my most recent camera, a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS3. It is 8.1 megapixels, the storage media is a SD card. The lens is optical 3X zoom, and there’s also video recording with sound. I should mention that I haven’t actually used this camera yet.
 
Okay, technically this is a handphone, not a camera. But I quite often take photos with my Nokia 5310 XpressMusic when I don’t have my camera around. The camera function is not too good, at 2 megapixels the photos only look good when I’m looking at them on my small handphone screen. And in most cases the photos are slightly blurred since nobody is able to keep their hands still while taking photos. There is 4X digital zoom, video recording with sound is also available.
 
None of the above cameras has SLR (single-lens resolution), since there’s no mention of it anywhere.
Leave a Reply

