I ran the JP Morgan Run – 16th April 2009

On 16th April, my colleagues and I took part in the JP Morgan Run. The twelve of us got off early from work to go to the city area where the run was held. The running route is 5.6km long, and it starts off in front of the Esplanade, running along the Marina Bay towards the Singapore Flyer, and then following the F1 race track, going one big round before finishing at the F1 Pit Stops.
 
There were 10,000 participants, and many companies sent in their group of runners, all wearing their company shirts to promote their business. Before the race started, several representatives of the organising commitee were introduced, most of them were CEO of some dunno what company, not really drawing our attention until we all cheered for the Minister of Community Development, Youth and Sports, since he was someone more popular than those others. There was another Minister who also drew a blank from the crowd.
 
The run started off at 6pm. It was still hot and sunny, but I was able to run the entire distance in a time of 32mins. One of my colleague was faster, he finished in 28mins. Good thing that I had been running regularly so as to keep myself fit, but this was quite an experience as my usual running distance is 2.4km, while this run at 5.6km was just more than twice my usual running distance. I take this as a challenge to myself, to see if I can maintain my running rate for a longer distance.
 
Everybody collected their goodie bags, which consisted of a shoe bag, sports bottle, T-shirt, plus a leisure magazine.
 
 
Me and some of my running colleagues. I am second from the right.
 
Leave a Reply

