Triathlon Training

In the past month or two, I had been joining a group of triathlon enthusiaists to exercise after work on Monday evenings. Actually, I was invited by my colleague Yo-yo Girl to join in the training. She herself is a triathlon enthusiast, having participated in many events. Personally, I jog and workout in gym often, so to do some triathlon training so happens to coincide with my personal resolution of staying fit and healthy and making exercise part of my everyday life, and perhaps even hulking up my physique so as to raise my market value.
 
Triathlon events consist of swimming, cycling and running. It can be a rather expensive hobby since triathletes invest quite a lot of money in purchasing and maintaining a good racer bike, usually in the range of $2,000 or $3,000 plus. Furthermore, some triathlon training programs conducted by professionals can cost in the hundreds. Fortunately, these Monday trainings are conducted by a fellow triahlon enthusiaist who offer his coaching services for free.
 
 
I train at the Queenstown Sports Complex, there is a swimming pool there which was built in 1970. The training only involves swimming and running, no cycling. First, we would swim 30 laps, which translates to 1.5km. After that, we would change into running attire, and run around the Queenstown area twice, ending back at the sports complex. I estimate the total running distance is about 6.3km.
 
Ideally, a triathlete should be able to complete 30 laps of swimming within 40mins, something that I have yet to achieve. Running immediately after swimming simulates the triathlon or even biathlon events, allowing us to adapt to the racing conditions, as well as develop the stamina to run some more after having first tiring ourselves out with swimming.
 
I had taken part in some triathlon/biathlon events. In my first event, I was part of a triathlon relay team, doing the 10km cycling part. My second event was a mini-biathlon, while my latest event was a sprint triathlon, which has half the distance of a full-length triathlon. I have not participated in a full-length triathlon yet, since I am more interested in doing the shorter distance races that I am confident of finishing.
Leave a Reply

