Awesome Toy Collection – Batman: The Animated Series

In the past few months, I have renewed my interest in watching the Batman cartoons that were shown over ten years ago, catching up on the episodes that I had missed, which are nearly all of them. And I’ve also decided to collect the toy figures from the Batman cartoons to compliment my interest. Especially since these figures can still be found on sale, either at China Square Central or on Ebay, and so I would try to collect whichever figures that I can find, and afford to buy, before they really become too rare to be found anymore.
 
And here I present, my awesome collection of figures from Batman: The Animated Series !
 
This is a snapshot of my awesome collection of Batman: TAS figures.
  
Here’s the hero, Batman! He’s wearing the batsuit with the “bat-signal” logo, which was the way Batman appeared in the first two seasons. The batsuit was later redesigned with a black bat replacing the “bat-signal” logo, as part of a revamp of the cartoon when the cartoon was transferred to another TV network.
 
 
The Joker is Batman’s ultimate nemesis. Here’s a picture of the Joker in the many variations of his figures that were released. You may consider the figure second from left as the “definitive” Joker in the version he most often appeared in on the show. The right two Jokers are repaint variants. Toy companies often release repaint variants of the same figure as a simple way to profit from toy collectors, who would want to buy all variants to complete their collection.
 
Batman faces a formidable task in stopping his numerous enemies from wrecking havoc in Gotham City. Collectively speaking, Batman’s foes are known as the Rogues Gallery. In the above picture are some of the criminals that Batman encountered. From the left: The Mad Hatter (with his evil robot rabbit), Mr. Freeze, Ra’s Al Ghul, Bane, The Creeper, Scarecrow, Two-Face, and The Clock King. It’s very interesting to note that each of Batman’s foes often has some kind of personal hatred or vendetta against either Batman, or Gotham City itself, using it to justify their criminal activities. Technically speaking, the Creeper is not an enemy of Batman, he is an innocent victim who was driven crazy by the Joker, and likewise had to be stopped by Batman. Also, Ra’s Al Ghul never appeared in that outfit.
 
 
In this picture we have: Killer Croc, The Riddler, Clayface, and Man-Bat. The reason why I had pictured these fellas here separately is because, they are repaint variants! In their “definitive” versions, Killer Croc should be in grey colour instead. The Riddler has a slightly different colour scheme. Clayface should have a darker brown tone, while Man-Bat’s brown tone should in fact be lighter.
 
 
And Batman’s Rogues Gallery has several femme fatales as well. Here we have: The Phantasm (Yes, she’s a woman!), Catwoman, Poison Ivy, and Harley Quinn. The Batman: TAS series of action figures was quite groundbreaking as it released several female figures at a time when female figures were still not considered as popular as the male ones. And it also proved to be quite a challenge to balance the girls on their feet.
 
Much more needs to be elaborated on my awesome Batman: TAS figures collection, which I shall blog some more about in my upcoming blog entries. For now, I shall conclude with pictures of some the Batman figures which I still lack and I am searching for.
 
I am searching for these fellas. From left: The Penguin, the Ventriloquist, Ra’s Al Ghul (in suit), and Talia (Ra’s daughter). The Penguin is said to be a rare figure and is rumoured to be rather expensive, but I would prefer to acquire the figure cheaply.
 
I am also looking out for (from left) Batgirl, Commissioner Gordon, and Alfred the Butler. These guys are on Batman’s side.
2 Responses to Awesome Toy Collection – Batman: The Animated Series

  1. Tommy, I did an illustration for Mr. Frost’s henchman Frostbite. I don’t know if was ever used by DC Toys or not. Can you help me? I’d be happy to send you a jpeg of it to see if you like. I did get the art back, and I know it went to DC because there’s a DC sticker on the back.

