I DON'T EAT CHILI !

Whoever is the first person to say that all Singaporeans like to eat chili, I want to whack him on his head. I DON’T EAT CHILI! I don’t like the chili taste and I don’t like the chili smell, and I choose not to include chili on my food since I don’t like chili anyway. I can still remember back in my school days when classmates would eat their ikan bilis with peanuts or french fries, all soaked in that chili sauce which gave off such a pungent stench. Yucks. And nowadays I can still smell that revolting stink when people eat pass me, it can literally churn your stomach.
 
There is an urban legend which, either I heard from somewhere, or I made it up, in which: If you dine in a fine restaurant and if you add extra sauce or chili to your food, the cook would come out of the kitchen and chase after you with his cleaver because, you are actually implying that the cook had not prepared the food well enough and therefore the food is not tasty enough. I don’t often add extra favour to my food because, I’m eating the original taste of the food as the cook had intended when he prepared it, which should be the case whenever we go eating. By adding chili to your food, you are not eating your food in the way it is meant to be tasted.
 
What I detest most are the hawkers who assume that when people order their food, the hawkers would automatically think that people would expect them to add chili even when they did not tell them to add. Tell me, which part of the words "Yong Tau Foo", "Fried Prawn Noodles", or even "Carrot Cake", does it spell "chili" ? Many a times I find myself unable to enjoy my lunch or dinner because the food is spicy when I did not ask for it. In worst cases I had to return the food for another as I simply do not eat chili. There was once I ordered popiah from a hawker, specifically mentioning that I do not want chili. The next customer behind me on the other hand ordered popiah with chili. But when the hawker prepared the popiah, he first sliced the chili popiah with his knife, then proceeded to slice the no chili popiah with his already chili-contaminated knife. As a result there was a nasty chili aftertaste in the popiah that I ate. That hawker fails in his customer service.
 
And I am particularly angry at KFC for introducing their ‘hot and crispy’ favour fried chicken, offered alongside with their ‘original receipe’ favour. I like to eat crispy food, but if it is too spicy I can’t eat it. Why can’t KFC also offer ‘crispy’ favour and leave out the chili when frying the chicken? KFC is sure doing all non-chili eaters a great disservice here.
 
 
If I never asked for chili in my food, you’d better not add any. I don’t eat chili. Deal with it.
 
Leave a Reply

