Say Goodbye to GeoCities

The internet web hosting service Yahoo! GeoCities is scheduled to close on October 26, 2009.
.
.
GeoCities began in mid-1995, and for many netizens the debut of GeoCities marked the first time that they could design their own homepages for free. A great plethora of GeoCities homepages were eventually created, covering possibly whatever topics that could been imagined. Personally, I myself have created my very own Star Trek website using GeoCities, joining the thousands of Star Trek websites created by fans worldwide.
.
 
This is my Star Trek website on GeoCities. “P Tom” is a username that I use.
.
GeoCities was acquired by Yahoo! in 1999 during the dot-com bubble crisis. The crisis was brought about partly because many internet start-ups were never truly able to profit from the services that they provided, thanks to the netizens who are only interested in using the free internet tools and services, and not paying any fees.
.
Over time, despite GeoCities’ free hosting service, GeoCities itself has gradually become obsolete with the advent of other web hosting services that are more user-friendly and offer better functionality, coupled with the ever-decreasing costs of hosting a personal website. Many GeoCities websites have long since been abandoned by their owners and have been inactive for several years.
.
And now with the impending closure of GeoCities, I have decided to end my GeoCities Star Trek website for good rather than migrate my website to another hosting service. I have not been updating my website for years, partly due to my studies and work commitments, but also due to what I feel is the utter user-unfriendliness of GeoCities’ interface and functions that made editing difficult and repetative. I have archived my website onto a DVD for my own personal reference,  so that I would not lose all my data, especially the numerous picture files that I have screen captured from the Star Trek games when I was creating my very own Star Trek encyclopedia.
.
.
.
.
20091004_stjr_monster
.
20091004_stjr_balkosi
Just some of the pictures I screen captured from Star Trek PC games.
.
And so, this is your last chance to visit the GeoCities homepages that has ever drawn your interest, all would be gone when GeoCities closes its final curtain.
Leave a Reply

