Custom Indy Figures – Peruvian Belloq and Belloq in suit

Here I showcase two more of my awesome custom Indiana Jones figures:
 
Peruvian Belloq from “Raiders of the Lost Ark”:
 
As Indy tumbles out of the collapsing Chachapoyan temple with the fertility idol in his hands, he comes face to face with his professional nemesis, René Belloq, who had allied with the locals natives who were now surrounding Indy and aiming their arrows at him. Indy had no choice but to surrender the idol, and his gun, to Belloq.
 
Recipe:
Head – René Belloq (“Raiders of the Lost Ark”)
Torso, upper legs, gun belt – RPG Indiana Jones (“Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull”)
Upper arms and Lower legs – Colonel Dovchenko (“Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull”)
Lower arms – Mutt Williams with snake (“Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull”)
Hat – The pith helmet comes from Sgt. Misha Zubenkov of the G.I. Joe Oktober Guard Comic 3 Pack.
 
René Belloq wears this safari outfit at the beginning of ROTLA. The hat is removable, taking it off shows the top of Belloq’s head. Everything above the eyebrows and ears were all sculpted out of epoxy glue. Creating the hair involved several layers of epoxy sculpting to achieve the texture effect. The sleeves foldups were also sculpted using epoxy. The forearms come from KOTCS Mutt Williams, which is a very useful custom fodder for figures with bare forearms. The watch was created using black tape and a small circular piece of paper.
 
René Belloq in suit from “Raiders of the Lost Ark”:
 
When Indy threatened to blow up the Ark of the Covenant unless Marion is released, Belloq sees through Indy’s bluff immediately, and dares Indy to go ahead, knowing full well that Indy would not carry out his threat since Indy’s curiosity to see what is inside the Ark was just as insatiable as his own’s.
 
Recipe:
Head, hands, shoes – René Belloq (“Raiders of the Lost Ark”)
Torso and legs – Indiana Jones
Arms and jacket – Monkey Man (“Raiders of the Lost Ark”)
Hat – Indiana Jones (“Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade”)
 
At first, I was thinking of simply using TLC Indy and TLC Henry Jones for the tie and suit jacket of Belloq, just like for my Marcus Brody custom. But then I decided to keep those two figures around for display purposes. And then I thought that, to simply use those two figures for “suit and tie” customs all the time was not very feasible as they were getting harder to find, and they were also getting more and more costly. Perhaps I can just use any of the leftover custom fodders that I have lying around. With some imagination I realised that I could convert the Monkey Man’s robes into a suit jacket by cutting it down in size, and then sculpting on the lapels and pockets with epoxy glue. I can also likewise sculpt a tie and collars directly onto the Indy torso. And this was what I did for customising Belloq in suit. If I hadn’t done this, then Belloq’s suit and tie would have looked exactly like that of Marcus Brody, which would have been all too easy for me to make.
 
One thing that I am not satisfied with Belloq in suit is that, the grey paint applied onto the jacket was too thick, which made the lapels and pockets look less prominent. Also, the paint turned more and more powdery as I painted the figure, resulting in a rather uneven surface around the figure.
 
The three faces of René Belloq. The middle is the original figure.
2 Responses to Custom Indy Figures – Peruvian Belloq and Belloq in suit

  1. djax says:

    would you be willing to sell
    these?

    • Tommy Lin says:

      Hi, thanks for your interest. I will be happy to accept commissions to customise figures, but please understand that there may be some figures that I cannot do as I can no longer find the parts required. It will also be helpful if the buyer can send me the parts which I need. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

