Someone that I'd really like to meet

There is someone who I always wished that I can get to meet her and be friend with. Miss A was a fellow student from another class back when I was studying in JC. Actually, Miss A is one of a pair of sisters who were studying together in JC, they were also known among friends as WAWE, an acronym of their initials. And why did I want to get to know Miss A? Well, frankly speaking, I thought that Miss A looked rather cool, something along the lines of an "Ice Queen". Just think of Jacelyn Tay, you’ll get the picture.
 
However, back then, I was more concerned with the worry that if I ever said something wrong to Miss A, she may become seriously offended and I may not even be able to talk to her again. Also, there was never an opportunity that Miss A could have got to know me. We were not in the same class, or the same ECA. She joined the Student Council. I didn’t even get pass the interview stage. We may be studying the same subjects in the same lecture hall, but I can say that I have never interacted with Miss A, or said anything to her. Somehow I thought that even the risks of making a self-introduction were too high. I felt that it was just too weird if I just came up to Miss A and try to start a conversation, especially when she doesn’t even know me. She might even think that I am trying to be funny or act like a fool.
 
So, I had to content myself with only being able to see Miss A at lectures during my two years of JC. I did my NS, and then university. And on and off, I still sometimes think of what if Miss A and I were friends. And in the meantime, I have come to realise that I really shouldn’t have to worry too much when it comes to making friends with girls. People make friends all the time, either with guys or girls. This is quite normal, all it takes is to overcome the initial shyness, don’t say wrong or stupid things, and be yourself, act natural.
 
And then one day, I attended the wedding of a friend, Mr. Newton, who works as a prudent financial advisor. And I thought that someone at the wedding looked like Miss A. Later at the wedding dinner, I found out that she WAS Miss A, she was a church friend of Mr. Newton who was helping to emcee at the dinner. By this point in my life, I now have the guts to introduce myself to Miss A during a break. Of course, she has never met me before, but now knows me as one of Mr. Newton’s friend. We chatted for a while, and I did give her my namecard.
 
I was rather happy to be able to see Miss A again after so many years. But in the following days, I found myself consumed with the idea that I should try to establish contact with Miss A. I had more or less been obsessed with this thought for over 10 years, and I can no longer afford to obsess over it for another decade. I asked Mr. Newton if he could arrange a meeting between me and Miss A, perhaps at some function which I can attend, and be properly introduced. I also asked if he could tell me anything more about her. Mr. Newton said that he would try, though I did detect a sense of unwillingness in his tone.
 
Nothing much happened for a few weeks, and then I got myself invited to a dinner party hosted by Mr. and Mrs. Newton to thank their wedding helpers, although Mr. Newton did tell me that Miss A would not be coming. At the party, I was hoping to inquire about Miss A from Mr. and Mrs. Newton, but they seemed to be too busy with attending to the other guests. Seeing that I would not be accomplishing much there, I was about to leave already when they realised that I was not getting what I came here for, now then they really speak to me.
 
Mr. Newton said he mentioned to Miss A that I would like to meet her, but she was not interested. That’s odd, I do not need Miss A’s permission in order to be introduced to her. But personally, I think that Mr. Newton’s attitude in conveying my request might have impressed upon Miss A wrongly. After all, Mr. Newton is renowned as a happy-go-lucky type of guy, there is something in the way he speaks that makes it sounds as if he is never serious in whatever he says, such that no one is ever sure whether he is either saying something important or he is making up a joke. I always wondered how he got a girlfriend in the first place with that kind of attitude. In addition, I also thought that, for someone who has already found some degree of happiness in his life, it was rather disappointing to see Mr. Newton quite so reluctant to be involved in helping out a friend make similar progress. Hey, I’m only trying to be friend with Miss A, not asking him to be a matchmaker.
 
On the other hand, Mrs. Newton did suggest that I try to contact Miss A via friending through her Facebook friends. I did that, and so far there has been no response to my invite, nor am I expecting such. Oh, btw, did I mention that I find Facebook to be a rather useless device? The only thing that Facebook is good for is to tell you how far your friends have progressed on with their lives through their profile photos, and getting yourself seriously upset by just looking at them, with their partners, their baby, or even their car, and realise how stagnated your life had become. And besides, who would want to click friends with someone you don’t even know or haven’t been introduced to?
 
Then I thought that perhaps I can visit Mr. Newton’s church so that I can get to meet Miss A, but almost immediately I killed that idea. I should know much better than try to fake my way into a church in order to get to know a girl, or her friends for that matter. Whatever else that I think it may be, the church is NOT a social club.
 
Ah heck. I still welcome whatever opportunity to get to meet Miss A, if fate ever allows it to happen, again. Life goes on, and I don’t intend to let my thoughts on Miss A dwell on my mind all the time. At least this time round I know that I have tried. Perhaps the only good I got from all of this is that my attitude towards making friends with girls had become much more optimistic than before. Cannot let the past hold you back, the future is yours to make.
 
P.S. One day I was walking through a shopping mall and thought I saw a familar face. On closer inspection, I recognised that she was not Miss A, but Miss E, her twin sister. I gave myself a smirk, it is always nice to see a familar face from your past, and it is always nicer if that person actually knows who you are.
Leave a Reply

