Something was very wrong with this conversation

There was once I had dinner with a group of my friends, we were together celebrating the birthdays of two of the girls in the group. All of us were eating and chatting, with me joining in their conversation every once in a while, when I find that I got something to add. But for most parts Mr. Chivalrous was hogging all of the attention, engrossed in his self-appointed role of providing entertainment to the girls present, by saying a lot of funny things and making quite the clown out of himself.
 
I always believe that it is a good idea to maintain a group of good friends, with a healthy mix of both guys and girls. These are people that you can go out with to eat dinner, watch movies, play badminton or bowling, or even go on holiday together. We can get to know more about one another, and who knows, perhaps you can get lucky and a girl may take a friendly interest in you and you can build a relationship with her. While I still allow for the possibility of “love at first sight”, it is always a good idea that you have some knowledge about the person you are interested in, and vice versa, and this can be done through interaction within a group of friends. I will be in deep trouble if I were to go up to each and every girl that I know and tell her that I’m interested in her. Even I will grow suspicious if some girl that I hardly know was to suddenly express an interest in me. But if we can first know each other as friends, I would be able to gauge for myself whether the girl that I’m interested in is suitable for me.
 
For reasons that I will not go into, I have already determined that none of those girls will ever think of me as a possible life partner no matter how much more kindness or friendliness that I show towards them. Nevertheless, I still consider them as good friends, and anyway I continue to keep that option open.
 
Okay, back at that dinner. I was trying my best to be as friendly as I had always been amongst friends. But Mr. Chivalrous’ topics of discussion has no holds barred, and then suddenly he was laughing and joking about the marital status of his friends, such as so-and-so are getting married, who’s just found a girlfriend, or boyfriend. He seems to think that it is very funny to reason out why someone is still single, or why someone took such a long time to get attached. And soon enough he was questioning those present as to how are they with their love life, with the obvious intentions of making a joke out of whatever answer that he gets.
 
And just when I thought that Mr. Chivalrous was asking me when am I getting a girlfriend, I simply stood up and left the table. I was already rather upset that despite all my effort, there had been no progress in my trying to develop relations with any of the girls, and I have no intentions of blowing my chances with them by saying what I actually felt either. For some strange reason, there is a tendency for girls to be scared away once they find out that someone had an interest in them. There is no way that I am going to let Mr. Chivalrous joke at my expense.
 
When I returned from the restroom, thankfully the conversation had moved on to some other topic.
 
I don’t know, but I do not apologise for being the optimistic person that I am. You’ll never know unless you try, and the last time I checked, there is no crime in trying to find someone to like. And people like Mr. Chivalrous can either say something supportive for a change rather than get a perverse thrill from such a sensitive matter, or he can just shut his foul-mouth up. Nobody is going to think that he is mute anyway.
Leave a Reply

