Apes of the Planet

One day, my Dad and I went to the Bukit Timah Nature Reserve. I wanted to visit a sports shop there as I was thinking of buying a pair of mountain shoes for an overseas hiking trip. Unfortunately, the shop was already closed. But along the way, we came across numerous wild monkeys which were frolicking about on the grass, grooming each other, and helping themselves with fruits and food plundered from nearby rubbish bins. Their carefree mannerisms both amused and intrigued us. For several years, the National Parks had been releasing monkeys (specifically the long-tailed Macaques) into the Singapore forests to help repopulate the species. Given the numerous instances of monkeys invading private residences to steal food, and the incessant feeding of monkeys by law-breaking citizens, I should say that NPark’s efforts at raising the awareness of wildlife conservation among Singaporeans had been met with a considerable degree of success.

The sight of so many monkeys inspired my father to comment: “猴子是人的远亲” – which translates to “Monkeys are distant relatives of Humans”. Hmm… I know of a couple of people who would take serious offense at that statement. Yet again, they also think that Yoga is evil, and that the universe was created in six days, but I’ll leave all that as a blog to rant another day. Obviously, my Dad was making a reference to the Theory of Evolution, which as suggested by Charles Darwin from his 1859 publication “On the Origin of Species” that Humans today evolved from apelike ancestors through a lengthly process of natual selection, adaptation, survival of the fittest, and probably even mutation. Being a person of scientific thinking, personally I find the idea that man could have evolved from apes to sound logical and it is possibly credible. Though I know of someone who totally outright rejected the Theory of Evolution since “he hasn’t seen any monkey turn into a man yet”.

Interestingly, my Dad’s comment inspired me into thinking what exactly are the implications of his comments, and it wasn’t very long before I came to the logical conclusion which I expessed by replying: “人是猴子的远亲!” – “Humans are distant relatives of monkeys!” Actually, that statement sounds more amusing than it was logical, as me saying it implies that we are the monkeys! Living about our carefree lives in this urban jungle!

On this note, I would like to mention of the upcoming movie “Rise of the Planet of the Apes”, which I assume would be a remake of the classic “Planet of the Apes” movie series, excluding the faux 2001 Tim Burton version. The “Planet of the Apes” series told of the story of… the planet of the apes, and I am not going to spoil the story for you by going any bit further into the details. What you can know about the upcoming movie, you can see for yourselves from the movie posters or movie trailers, the latter of which I am going to avoid since I choose to keep myself unaware of the storyline until I can surprise myself by what I see in the cinema.

Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Coming soon.

Leave a Reply

