The end of THAT affair

I’m not usually one who would hold such an animosity against someone that I would want to purposely tell the whole world about it, but I suppose even that even for a nice guy like me, who works hard for a honest living and strives for the best in life, deserves a chance to say my peace and rant my thoughts once in a while, least they fester within and grow into something cancerous.

A couple of weeks back, a good army friend of mine suggested that I meet one of his girlfriend’s female friend. After thinking about it, I decided to meet up with them for dinner, I figured that there’s no reason why I should deny this girl an opportunity to be my friend. So I rendezvoused with them for a hot-pot dinner, whereby my army buddy introduced GSTgirl to me. GSTgirl was in the same language class as my army buddy’s girlfriend, and as I conjecture, we wanted to meet more friends, and hopefully, move on with our lives.

During the dinner, I learnt that the GSTgirl works for the tax department, as that was the only job available to her when she graduated during the economic downturn. She seems to like to eat a lot of beef, and spents her entire Sundays cleaning her makeup brushes. After the dinner I exchanged contact information with GSTgirl, to keep in contact. But already, I confided to my army buddy that GSTgirl was quite full of herself. She can talk and talk and talk and expect everyone to listen to her, but she totally fails to pay any attention when anyone else tries to talk to her. But I suppose nobody’s perfect, and being the gentleman that I am, I was quite prepared to like her the way she is.

So I took the initiative and invited GSTgirl out for another dinner, just the two of us. This time round I made the effort to get to know her better, asking about her life, work, interests. However, throughout the dinner GSTgirl seemed more obsessed with staring and tapping at her iPhone (…didn’t she says she doesn’t surf Facebook? DAMN YOU APPLE!), rather than actually chatting with her dinner date. GSTgirl mentioned that she spends all her time watching HK, Taiwan, and Korean TV dramas, and likewise I shared that my favourite TV shows are science fiction. At this point the conversation took a somewhat ominous tone, when just based on this GSTgirl declared that there is nothing in common for us to talk about. This I felt rather strange as it always takes time to get to know someone, progress can only take place gradually, and no normal person can make such a judgment after only one or two meet-ups.

After dinner, instead of hanging out in the city, GSTgirl would rather go to Ikea to buy furniture for her room (at nearly closing time?), so I bid her goodbye. You know, I actually fell for it! It was only recently I came to the conclusion that it was all a ruse to get away from me. And this, after she had decidedly chosen to ignore all my subsequent invites sms, I don’t buy the idea that GSTgirl was unaware of all my messages, considering that she STARES at her iPhone 24/7!

I can say that GSTgirl is one who will burn the bridges if she thinks that’s what it takes to unfriend someone. I suppose that this is the end of that affair, yet I don’t feel too bad about it. Especially since GSTgirl had been deceiving everyone right from the start, when she stated that she never tells anyone her full name, I think the alias she uses is unlikely to be her real name either, similar to her antics of going shopping for furniture in the middle of the night. There cannot possibily be an ounce of truth in whatever GSTgirl had said about herself, not even the idea that she has a twin sister who is a workaholic and has no life. Come to think of it, she DID sound like she was making it up on the spot. And the fact that GSTgirl mentioned that she thinks my army buddy is a very smart guy, makes me even suspect that she might already be interested in my army buddy instead.

GSTgirl, if you are not interested, at least you can act like a girl and tell me that straight in the face. Being the new age guy I would have accepted your decision and  respected your choice. For the record I had NEVER forced anyone to like me out of her own free will. However, your need to resort to trickery and deception only goes to show just how immature you are as an adult, totally failing in the ways of developing interpersonal relationships, relegating yourself to one who is unable to makes compromises, seeks the impossible in life, and thinks that the whole world only revolves around you just because you believe that anything and everything must go in your way. And no amount of makeup or mascara can cover-up that stinking facade on your face. Too bad for you.

Too bad for me too, huh.

Leave a Reply

