Custom Indy Figures – Barranca

Hi guys! Today I showcase my 50th custom Indiana Jones figure! And I think it is a truly awesome one!

#50: Barranca from “Raiders of the Lost Ark”

In 1936, Indiana Jones arrived in Peru in search of an ancient Chachapoyan golden idol. For the expedition, Indy hired the services of local guides Satipo and Barranca, both of whom accompanied Indy deep into the Peruvian jungle in search of the Chachapoyan temple. However, Barranca attempted to steal the map to the temple from Indy, he pulled out his gun and prepared to shoot Indy in the back. Fortunately, Indy heard the cock of the gun’s hammer, and instinctively spun around and used his whip to lash the gun out of Barranca’s hand. Barranca then fled into the jungle, only to meet his fate at the hands of the following Hovitos warriors.

Recipe:
Head – Clone Trooper (“Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones”)
Torso, jacket – Monkey Man (“Raiders of the Lost Ark”)
Arms – RPG Indiana Jones (“Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull”)
Upper legs, shoes, hat, gun holster – Indiana Jones (Idol) (“Raiders of the Lost Ark”)
Lower legs – Ugha Warrior (“Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull”)

This is a figure that had been a long time coming, mainly because of two factors. First, I needed to find a head with comparable likeness to Barranca. An earlier plan to re-sculpt Monkey Man’s head into Barranca was considered and ultimately discarded (Barranca and Monkey Man were protrayed by the same actor). I felt that it was beyond my ability to carve out Monkey Man’s eyepatch and then re-construct from scratch the eye and head sections. A search for a suitable head lead to the Clone Trooper, a figure which I had already acquired for use as possible custom fodder, just because I felt he looked badass enough to be a possible Indy enemy.

Second, I needed the Ugha Warrior’s lower legs for the Barranca figure, but I had not been to find any on sale here, and I was quite unwilling to buy from eBay the figure only to use its legs. It was only recently did I finally purchased the Ugha Warrior from a local toy shop which had put out some of its older stocks for sale.

Just as in each of my customs, I have replicated nearly every detail so that my Barranca figure would be as screen-accurate as possible, even down to the positions and shapes of the patches on his jacket. An examination of Barranca’s hat showed that there are two bullet holes, one on the front and another on the back, indicating that a bullet had once shot through the hat.

Indy leading the way into the Peruvain jungle, followed by Satipo and Barranca,
along with a mule carrying their supplies.

The double-crossing Barranca pulls out his gun and prepares to shoot Indy from behind.

Indy’s quick reflexes saves him as he whips the gun out of Barranca’s hand.

Just one more:

And I call the figure on the right “Satipo v2.0”. I had previously customised the Satipo figure (left) wayback sometime ago, and had recently made some further modification on Satipo to brush up his appearance. Thanks to a poster on the Indiana Jones forum whom I shall identify with the initials “LQ”, I have acquired a plastic cast head of the Satipo prototype figure, to replace the original one on my figure. Additional lapels, shoulder straps, and pockets have been sculpted on the jacket, and the jacket had been repainted from yellow-green to buff.

Just another one more:

In celebration of my 50th Indiana Jones custom figure, I thought that I’ll snap a group photo of all my custom figures which I had showcased thus far, along with a couple of other Indy-themed customised items. 50, and most definitely still going strong. There, I hope that answers your question.

Comments are closed.

