Sorry Miss Act-cute, I don’t know you

A recent news article on a fashion trend in Japan reminded me of someone that I knew.

The article mentioned of the “Lolita”-style fashion that is currently all the vogue in Japan. Girls would dress up like the European princesses of long time past, in the various doll-like styles of baroque and rocco. And this lifestyle choice does not only manifest itself in the garments these girls wear. Even their thoughts, character and behaviour are restricted to only the mentality of childhood fairytales and anime fantasy. It’s as if they live within an inner world of cuteness and immaturity, and they have no intention of ever growing up and leaving it.

Upon reading the article, I immediately found all of the above to match the description of Miss Act-cute. Miss Act-cute is an overly-friendly girl with a passion for staying happy under whatever circumstances. All the dresses that she had ever wore convey some measure of cuteness, and she always seemed to be surrounded with jewellery and trinklets. In addition, all her previous handphones (and I believe now her iPhone too) were covered with shining rhinestones.

I was quite glad to be acquainted with Miss Act-cute, and I believe so did all of her fellow university classmates. It is not often that you come across someone who is so eager to keep in touch, invite people out together for dinner, movie, KTV, outings, or even go for overseas tour. I always believed that sustained interaction is very important in every friendship, that this is the only way that lifelong bonds can be established and formed. So, I looked forward to everytime Miss Act-cute sends an outing invitation out to her friends.

Of course, I also do my part of getting to know Miss Act-cute better by chatting with her whenever an opportunity presents itself. However, at times my conversations with her seemed skewed one-sided. For example, there was once Miss Act-cute asked me about my family, but when I likewise asked her about her family, Miss Act-cute just smiled, laughed, and moved on to another subject. This was rather disappointing since, in every friendship, there should always be an honest, free, and unreserved sharing of information, or else you will simply know nothing about the person you are talking with. And for some strange reason Miss Act-cute would invite to outings a whole bunch of her friends who may not actually know each other, and she actually expects us to talk and make friends amongst ourselves, when I am more interested in getting to know Miss Act-cute only.

And somehow Miss Act-cute, despite all her friendliness, has never taken it upon herself to consider the possibility that she may meet someone that she could like and thereafter move on with her life. This is yet another extension of her self-confinement in her immaturity so as to maintain her “cuteness”.  Rumour has it that there was a guy who once tried to be nice with Miss Act-cute, but then Miss Act-cute more or less excommunicated him from her life. It’s as if she considers it a serious crime for anyone to try to be nice to her. And when I shared with her my belief that a worthwhile friendship can be considered to be improved upon to form a relationship, Miss Act-cute immediately suggested that I don’t try that on her, adamant in her delusion that for her to be “eternally cute” there can be no space for any guy in her life.

And it was through reading the recent news article that I finally figured out the real reason why Miss Act-cute makes so many friends. The only reason why she looks for friends is because she desparately seeks an audience to her self-perceived cuteness. She treats her friends as mere spectators with whom she will never form a genuine bond with, and she will neither cherish nor appreciate her friendships since in her opinion these so called “friends” are only an audience who can always come and go, and she thinks that she will always be making new friends anyway.

When Miss Act-cute most recently invited people to join her for an outing at Snow City, I decided not to even dignify her sms with a reply, she can find someone else to stare at her awesome cuteness. It’s not as though she is going to know me or like me any better if I went, and it is her serious problem, not that Miss Act-cute is going to realise it since she is so blinded by her cuteness. Sorry Miss Act-cute, I don’t know you. As the old saying goes, “it takes two to tango”, and I would rather place my efforts where some progress can actually be made.

Comments are closed.

