Marvel Universe Collecting – A.I.M. Soldiers and M.O.D.O.K.

We are back in the Marvel Universe, and the showcase for today is: A.I.M. Soldiers & M.O.D.O.K. !

IMG_4968
George Tarleton, an average technician working for the terrorist organisation A.I.M. (Advanced Idea Mechanics), was chosen at random to undergo a mutagenic process which transformed him into a massive-headed being with superhuman intelligence and extraordinary psionic powers. Originally intended to function as a M.O.D.O.C. (Mobile Organism Designed Only for Computing), Tarleton was enraged by his hideous condition and he slayed his former masters, taking over control of A.I.M., and now assuming the acronym M.O.D.O.K. (Mobile Organism Designed Only for Killing).

I have always been fascinated by A.I.M. ever since I read about them in the Official Handbook of the Marvel Universe. According to the Handbook, A.I.M. (Advanced Idea Mechanics) is an organisation of brilliant scientists and their hirelings dedicated to the acquisition of power and the overthrow of all governments by technological means.

IMG_4969
A.I.M. soldiers come with a pistol and an arm-mounted cannon each. The heads resemble the beekeeper’s helmet.

So it was rather cool when A.I.M. soldiers were finally given physical form and I had to collect a couple, especially so to accompany the M.O.D.O.K. which I had acquired long time back.

IMG_4972
M.O.D.O.K. in his chair.

M.O.D.O.K. is based on his appearance from the 1994 “Iron Man” animated series, separate accessories can be attached onto his head such as the “Hyperoptic Video Cam”, and the “Gamma Missile Launcher”.

IMG_4973
M.O.D.O.K. prepares to fire a brain blast.

IMG_4974
M.O.D.O.K.’s cardback

A.I.M.’s and M.O.D.O.K.’s frequent enemies in the comics include Captain America and S.H.I.E.L.D.

In “Iron Man 3 : The Official Game”, M.O.D.O.K. is revealed to be Aldrich Killian whose consciousness was downloaded onto A.I.M.’s network before he was killed.

Just one more:

IMG_4975
Hasbro reused A.I.M. soldier’s uniform sculpt for several other figures such as Magneto, Star-Lord, Ghost Rider (including another variant Ghost Rider not pictured here), and maybe even more.

Leave a Reply

